Felony Leaving the Scene of an Accident - NRS 484E.010
After leaving the scene of an accident in Las Vegas, the Metro Police Department's accident investigation section will begin an investigation. The officers will often visit the home or work of any suspect in order to interrogate any suspected with the goal of gaining any admission that will lead to sufficient evidence to obtain an arrest warrant. Once the criminal investigation begins - don't incriminate yourself.
After a criminal investigation begins for leaving the scene, it is important to contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. Under NRS 484E.100, a garage or repair shop must maintain records of repairs made to vehicles involved in accidents for at least two years. If you make a false claim to your insurance company, then you can face additional charges. Don't compound one mistake by making more mistakes.
After the criminal investigation begins, never make a statement to any law enforcement officer until after you have spoken to a criminal defense attorney. The attorney can help you deal with the police and your insurance company. James Gallo is experienced in handling investigations for hit and run or leaving the scene throughout Las Vegas and Clark County, Nevada.
Call today for a free consultation to talk with James Gallo, a Las Vegas hit-and-run attorney to find out what you need to do right now to protect your rights and work to resolve the case under the best possible terms.
NRS 484E.010 - Failure to Stop after an Accident with Personal Injury
NRS 484E.010 requires a driver to stop at the scene of an accident involving death or personal injury. The offense is often called "leaving the scene of an accident." Any driver in Nevada has a duty to immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible if the vehicle he or she is driving is involved in an accident on a highway or on premises to which the public has access resulting in bodily injury to or the death of a person.
After stopping, the driver has a duty to remain at the scene of the accident until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of NRS 484E.030.
Additionally, the driver must make the stop without obstructing traffic more than is necessary before returning to the scene of the crash.
Penalties for Failing to Stop after an Accident
Under NRS 484E.010, if a person fails to stop after an accident and remain at the scene as required, then the person can be charged with a category B felony under NRS 484E.010(1).
The statutory penalty for the failure to stop after an accident in Nevada is imprisonment in the state prison for a maximum term of not more than 15 years and not less than 2 years. The fine for failing to stop after an accident is not less than $2,000 nor more than $5,000.
Requirements of NRS 484E.030
NRS 484E.030 provides the duty to give information and render aid after a motor vehicle crash involving death or personal injury. After stopping and remaining at the scene of a crash involving death or personal injury, the driver must fulfill the requirements of NRS 484E.030 including:
- giving his or her name and address;
- providing the registration number of the vehicle;
- exhibiting his or her driver's license to any person injured or the driver of the other vehicle;
- giving the information and the driver's license to any police officer at the scene conducting a crash investigation;
- render assistance including taking an injured person to the hospital or a doctor for treatment if needed.
Under NRS 484E.030(2), if no police officer is present, the driver of any vehicle involved in such accident after fulfilling all other requirements of subsection 1 and NRS 484E.010, insofar as possible on his or her part to be performed, shall forthwith report such accident to the nearest office of a police authority or of the Nevada Highway Patrol and submit the information required by NRS 484E.030(1).
Nevada Revised Statute in Chapter 484E - The statutory scheme covers the duty to stop at the scene and report an accident death, personal injury, damage to a vehicle or property, and damage to attended or unattended property. Chapter 484E also covers the requirement to give immediate notice to police after an accident, written or electronic reports to the Department, the failure to report penalties, and providing false report penalties.
Attorney for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Las Vegas, NV
If you are charged with felony leaving the scene of an accident involving personal injury or believe you might be under investigation for this serious crime then seek out the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney in Las Vegas, NV, for criminal traffic offenses. James Gallo has the training and experience necessary to help you protect your rights.
James Gallo can help you deal with the police and your insurance company. Find out what you need to do right now to protect yourself from this serious criminal allegation. Call (702) 385-3131 today.
This article was last updated on May 9, 2016.