Failure to File a Police Report after an Accident
The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department recently announced that they are no longer responding to motor vehicle accidents if no one at the scene suffers from any personal injury. In those cases in which the police do not respond, Nevada law requires the driver of each vehicle to file a "Report of Traffic Accident" if the property damage exceeds $750.00. See NRS 484E.070(2).
The report of the traffic accident must be submitted on an approved SR-1 form within ten days of the accident. NRS 484E.120(3). The driver must attach to the form a copy of his driver's insurance card, an estimate of repair and a doctor’s statement if any injury has arisen since the date of the accident. The reports are confidential nature of the report so the details of the report cannot be used against the driver in a later civil suit or criminal action. NRS 484E.070(7).
If only one driver submits a report and the other driver involved in the crash fails to submit the report, then the DMV can suspend the driver’s license of the driver that failed to submit a report. NRS 484E.080(1).
Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney if you were charged with hit and run in Las Vegas, NV, or any other criminal offense related to the failure to file a police report after a traffic crash. Call (702) 385-3131 today to discuss your case.
Penalties for the Failure to Submit a Police Report after an Accident
Failing to file an accident report under NRS 484E.080(1) after a crash can be charged as a gross misdemeanor. Charges that come with a potential penalty of up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. A conviction for the offense also comes with a potential one-year license suspension.
Related charges under Nevada law include:
- leaving the scene of an accident under NRS 484E.010,
- hit and run, and
- making a false police report of an accident under NRS 484E.080(2).
Find out what you need to do immediately to protect your rights as you fight to resolve the case for the best possible terms.
Elements of NRS 484E.080
NRS 484E.080 for the failure to report provides that if a person willfully fails, refuses or neglects to make a report of an accident in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 484E.080, then the person’s driving privilege may be suspended for up to one year.
The driver's license suspension action taken under this section remains in effect for 1 year unless terminated by receipt of the report of the accident or upon receipt of evidence that failure to report was not willful. Related charges including the misdemeanor offense of filing a false police report after an accident under NRS 484E.080(2).
Finding a Las Vegas Attorney for Failing to File a Report
If you are charged in Las Vegas or the surrounding areas of North Las Vegas or Henderson with failing to file a police report after a motor vehicle accident, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. Related charges include felony leaving the scene of the accident, misdemeanor hit-and-run, and failure to file a police report under NRS 484E.080(2).
James Gallo has the training and experience to fight these charges and help you resolve the case for the best possible terms. He can help you deal with the law enforcement investigators and the insurance company. Call today to speak with an attorney about your case.
This article was last updated on Thursday, February 25, 2016.