818 S Casino Center Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89101

Available 24 hours / 7 days a week

Leaving the Scene of Property Damage - NRS 484E.020

Leaving the scene of a crash can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. When the accident involves only damage to a vehicle or other property that is attended, then the crime of leaving the scene is usually charged under NRS 484E.020.

The possible penalties for this misdemeanor version of leaving the scene of a crash under NRS 484E.020 including up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, and up to six demerit points on your driver’s license.

If you were suspected of leaving the scene of an accident involving only property damage in Las Vegas, NV, or the surrounding areas of Clark County, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Gallo Law Office. Although crimes charged under NRS 484E.020 are charged as a misdemeanor, this is a criminal offense that comes with serious criminal penalties. If a criminal investigation has begun, then contact James Gallo before making a statement to the police.  


Elements of NRS 484E.020

Under NRS 484E.020, the driver has a Duty to stop at scene of accident involving damage to vehicle or property. The statute provides that any driver in Nevada that drives any vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle or other property which is driven or attended by any person shall:

  1. Immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident; and
  2. As soon as reasonably practicable, if the driver’s vehicle is obstructing traffic and can be moved safely, move the vehicle or cause the vehicle to be moved to a location as close thereto as possible that does not obstruct traffic and return to and remain at the scene of the accident until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of NRS 484E.030.

Reporting Requirements of NRS 484E.030

NRS 484E.030 requires the driver of any vehicle involved in a crash causing property damage to attended property (even without any personal injury) to give information and render aid. The information the driver is required to give includes:

  1. his or her name; 
  2. his or her address; 
  3. the registration number of the vehicle involved in the crash; and
  4. exhibit his or her driver's license to the other driver or any law enforcement officer at the scene.

In many cases involving a crash with attended property, if a police officer is not present, then the driver of any vehicle involved in such accident after fulfilling all other requirements of subsection 1 and NRS 484E.010, insofar as possible on his or her part to be performed, shall forthwith report such accident to the nearest office of a police authority or of the Nevada Highway Patrol.


Additional Resources

Hit and Run in Las Vegas - Read more about how criminal investigations for hit and run cases are investigated by the Las Vegas Metro Police Department for cases involving either property damage of an unattended property, property damage for an attended vehicle, personal injury or death.

NRS 484E.010 - Felony Leaving the Scene of an Accident with Personal Injury - Read more about felony charges for "hit and run" or "leaving the scene of an accident" involving bodily injury or death. Nevada law provides for harsh penalties and punishments for anyone that doesn't immediately stop after a traffic crash. When someone in the crash is injured, local prosecutors are particularly unforgiving. 


Finding an Attorney for Misdemeanor Leaving the Scene Crimes

If you are charged with leaving the scene in a case involving property damage to another attended vehicle then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Gallo Law Office. Attorney James Gallo is experienced in representing clients in serious criminal traffic charges including hit-and-run, hit-and-skip, or leaving the scene of an accident.

If you are under investigation for leaving the scene misdemeanor charges, then contact an experienced criminal defense attorney before you make any statement to law enforcement. Law enforcement officers and prosecutors in the criminal justice system can be unforgiving when it comes to leaving the scene of the accident charges under NRS 484E.020.


This article was last updated on Monday, May 9, 2016.