If you were arrested for a second DUI within seven (7) years of a first DUI, contact James C. Gallo to discuss the facts of your case. The penalties for the second DUI are much greater then the penalties for the first DUI.
Las Vegas Second DUI Lawyer
Call (702) 385-3131 to schedule a free consultation to to learn more about fighting a second DUI in Las Vegas and throughout Clark County, Nevada. James C. Gallo represents clients in the City of Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Henderson, and Boulder City.
Information on Second DUI
- Penalties for a 2nd DUI in Las Vegas
- Treatment after a Second DUI Offense
- Attorney in Las Vegas for the 2nd DUI
Nevada law provides for certain mandatory minimum penalties and statutory maximum penalties for a DUI second offense within 7 years including:
- Fines: the fines range from $750 to $1,000 or equivalent number of hours of community service (Las Vegas courts usually impose a net $1,100 fine for a second-offense DUI);
- Jail: 10 days in jail or 10 days of house arrest or residential confinement (the court can impose up to 6 months in jail);
- VIP: attendance at a victim impact panel (VIP) (a presentation sponsored by the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD);
- Counseling: an alcohol/drug dependency evaluation that costs $100 and possible additional counseling if recommended regardless of the defendant’s alcohol level as provided in NRS 484C.400;
- Vehicle Registration Suspension: suspension of the defendant’s vehicle registration for five days under NRS 484C.520; and
- Ignition Interlock Device: if your BAC was .18 or greater, a Nevada Breath Interlock Device in your car for 12 months to 36 months as a condition of obtaining a restricted license or reinstating your license (if your BAC was less than .18, the court may order the Breath Interlock Device for 3 months to 6 months.
A person charged or convicted of a second DUI may apply to attend an alcohol or drug abuse treatment program in lieu of the above sentence. The treatment program must last from one to three years. To be accepted into the treatment program, the person must be diagnosed as an alcoholic or abuser of drugs by a physician or licensed alcohol and drug abuse counselor.
The defendant must pay the cost of the treatment program. After the defendant applies to do the program, the prosecution may request a hearing to challenge the defendant’s eligibility for the program.
It is then up to the court to determine whether the defendant is allowed to complete the program in lieu of serving the standard sentence. After the defendant is accepted into the program, the sentence is suspended until the defendant successfully completes the program.
If you were arrested for a second DUI in Las Vegas or throughout the surrounding areas of Clark County, Nevada, including North Las Vegas or Henderson, then contact an experienced drunk driving attorney with Gallo Law Office at (702) 385-3131.